The Linense boat ‘Varaderos del Sur’, representing the CN Bevelle based in our marina Alcaidesa Marina in La Línea, has reached the third position in the J80 Royal Bliss class during its participation in the XXIV Trofeo S.M. La Reina-Regata Homenaje a la Armada – XXXV Copa Almirante Marcial Sánchez-Barcaíztegui, one of the most prominent cruising sailing competitions held in Valencia.

The Varaderos del Sur, led by skipper Rafel Díaz, has a crew consisting of Marcos Belizón (trimmer), Javier Madrid (main) and Nacho Cifuentes (bow). After a good start in the race, where the Linense boat placed in a favorable position, it faced difficulties on Saturday and dropped to fifth place. However, a comeback on Sunday allowed it to achieve the success of returning to the podium.

On the final day, the Team Balearia team won the first race of the day, followed by Dorsia Covirán Alicante City&Beach, Gestión Varaderos del Sur GVS, Asociados, and Iser Smart Energy. In the next race, it was the Asociados team that took first place, followed by Iser in second, Gestión Varaderos in third, Dorsia in fourth, and Meltemi Impresion3D Atlantico in fifth.

The J80 class had a total of nine races scheduled, and all of them were completed. In the last race, the Asociados team came out on top, followed by Gestión Varaderos del Sur (securing their place on the podium), Iser Smart Energy, Team Balearia, and Dorsia.

Final standings of the Queen’s Cup of sailing:

1. Asociados: 1, 1, 3, 6, 5, 1, 4, 1, 1 (17 points).
2. Team Balearia: 3, 4, 4, 5, 1, 3, 1, 7, 4 (25 points).
3. Gestión Varaderos del Sur GVS: 6, 5, 1, 2, 6, 5, 3, 3, 2 (27 points).
4. Iser Smart Energy: 2, 6, 5, 3, 2, 6, 5, 2, 3 (28 points).
5. Dorsia Covirán Alicante City&Beach: 4, 2, 8, 7, 3, 2, 2, 4, 5 (29 points).

Additionally, the Enewtec team from Murcia, led by Francisco Miguel Giménez and representing the CN La Isleta, dominated the ORC 4 Occident class throughout the emblematic regatta of the Real Club Náutico de Valencia and was crowned the overall champion of the Queen’s Cup. Other winners include Elena Nova in ORC 0-1 MSC, Maverta-Defcom Seguridad in ORC 2, L’Immens-LaPlaza Assessors in ORC 3, Davincy in Open Musto, and Newkote in Promoción UPV.

News extracted from Europa Sur.